The Lompoc Elks Club Scholarship Committee has selected Students of the Quarter from the three local high schools.

They are:  

  • Kimberly Deming, Olat Luna, Cedric Kwon and Isabelle Pellot, seniors at Cabrillo High.
  • James Aranguren, Anallely Gonzales-Diaz, Abigal Pangilinan and Tyler Rainwater, seniors at Lompoc High.
  • Angele Hurtado, senior at Maple High.

The students were awarded $50 and will be treated to a congratulatory ceremony May 10. The event will include dinner for the winners and their families. Ken Ostini, former CEO/President Ken Ostini of the Lompoc Chamber of Commerce, will be the guest speaker and plaques and certificates of achievement will be awarded.

Many of the students are expected to apply for the $750 student of the year scholarship, which will be awarded to one student from each high school. "It's a boys against girls award and highly competitive," according to an Elks Club spokesperson. The student of the year awards will also be presented at the awards dinner in May.