Subscribe for 33¢ / day

A majority of the 2016-17 Los Padres League basketball awards were painted in black and gold, as Cabrillo dominated both the boys and girls player of the year and coach of the year selections that were released on Thursday.

On the girls side, Erin Jenkins and Britney McCune both claimed the LPL Offensive Player of the Year nod for the Conquistadores. Jared McCune went on to claim the Coach of the Year award for CHS after guiding the Conqs to a 24-3 mark and a perfect 14-0 league run.

The guards McCune and Jenkins, who are cousins off the court, consistently led CHS in scoring and collecting rebounds on any given night, as Cabrillo’s season ended in the quarterfinals of the CIF Southern Section Division 2A playoffs. McCune, who just wrapped up his fourth season at Vandenberg Village, already has 80 career head coaching victories with the Conqs.

Guard Alyssa Stewart earned first team recognition for the Conqs. Guard Kiki Dial, forward Haleigh Batty and forward Valerie Monzon were the last CHS players to earn league recognition, with the latter landing honorable mention honors.    

Lompoc guard Cheyenne Marmolejo shared the LPL Defensive Player of the Year nod with Nipomo’s Kylie Mendez. The Braves – 20-6 overall and 12-2 in the LPL this past season - had two players make the All-LPL first team in guard Danielle Morgan and forward Chavon Garrett. Chavon’s twin sister Cyenna went on to earn second team honors at forward. 

Rounding out the rest of the first team were: Guard Sidney Aguilera of Nipomo and guard Lita Wright of Santa Ynez. The remainder of the second team saw guard Kiesa Romero of Nipomo and forward Sommer Vasquez of Orcutt Academy land a spot there. 

All-LPL Honorable Mentions were guard Verena Santillian of Santa Maria, forward Mariah Lopez of Orcutt Academy, forward Sarah Perkins of Santa Ynez, guard Abbey Gutierrez of Nipomo, forward Valerie Monzon of Cabrillo and guard Alyssa Grossi of Lompoc. 

On the boys' side, LeAndrew Knight claimed the Offensive MVP award after the guard averaged between 20 to 25 points a night for the unbeaten LPL champion Conquistadores, who went 25-4 overall and 14-0 in league games.

C.J. Simmons won LPL Coach of the Year honors after taking CHS to the quarterfinals of the CIF SS Division 3A postseason. Jordan Tyler went on to land on the All-LPL First Team at center. Forward TreVaughn Ross and guard Isaac Everett were the final CHS basketball stars to earn league accolades after earning second team and honorable mention honors, respectively.

Lompoc wound up placing three players on the All-League team: Kam Davis (first team, guard), Ryan Morgan (second team, center) and Vesi Auau (second team, forward). Morgan and Auau were the only freshmen to earn All-League honors. 

Get breaking news sent instantly to your inbox

Defensive Player of the Year went to Blake Hadley of Santa Ynez, who helped breathe new life into a Pirates basketball program that hadn't won a playoff game in 28 years, but wound up finishing in the quarterfinals of the CIF Southern Section D4 playoffs. 

Fellow Pirate point guard Drew Stephens earned All-LPL first team honors. Forward Marc Pyle of Orcutt Academy, point guard Blake Truhitte of Santa Maria and point guard Daniel Hyun of Nipomo helped round out the rest of the league's first team group. 

Along with the Braves, the Saints also had two players land on the second team in guards Isiah Kurgan and Joey Nevarez. Helping complete the second team were guard Zack Hewitt of Santa Ynez and forward Luke Wilenius of Nipomo. 

Guard Jeffrey Ray of Lompoc, forward Gabe Prendergast of Santa Ynez, guard Luis Ramos of Orcutt Academy, forward Corey Hettenhauser of Nipomo and guard Elvis Garcia of Santa Maria received honorable mention recognition.