Locarno is a southern Swiss town and municipality in the district Locarno (and its capital), located on the northern shore of Lago Maggiore at its northeastern tip at the southern foot of the Swiss Alps. It has a population of about 16,000 and about 56,000 for the agglomeration of the same name including Ascona besides other municipalities. Locarno is a sister city to Lompoc.