Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Junior Dustin Gregg consistently produced when he was at the plate.

When he was BEHIND the plate, the junior catcher was a steadying influence for Santa Ynez pitchers.

Gregg helped lead the Pirates to their third baseball league title in the last four years. He is the Los Padres League baseball MVP.

Gregg hit .371 and had 23 RBIs for the Pirates from Santa Barbara County, who finished 25-8, 18-3. He was second on the team in both categories.

Morro Bay senior Tyler Chivens is the LPL Pitcher of the Year. He went 6-3 with a 1.31 ERA for the Pirates from San Luis Obispo County.

Santa Ynez landed three players on the All-Los Padres League First Team. CIF Southern Section Division 6 champion Santa Maria landed two.

Santa Ynez sophomore shortstop Cole Knightley, junior second baseman Travis Welker and junior pitcher Daniel Atchison are all on the first team. So are Santa Maria senior shortstop-pitcher Pauly Navarro and junior pitcher Trevor Garcia.

LPL runner-up Templeton placed three players on the first team. They are sophomore shortstop Justice Gibbons, senior center fielder Shane Wyatt and junior third baseman Jared Money.

Senior pitcher-outfielder Jesse Gasca and junior shortstop-second baseman Jeff Ray of Lompoc are on the first team. So are senior pitcher-infielder Izzy Hernandez of Cabrillo, senior catcher-pitcher Kalvin Hilliard of Morro Bay, senior center fielder J.J. Ramirez of Nipomo and senior outfielder Elijah Vega of Orcutt Academy.

The second team consists of junior outfielder-pitcher Ethan Usher, junior first baseman Colin Jamison and sophomore third baseman Casey Hickman of Santa Ynez; junior catcher Jared Brilitz and junior pitcher Cole Garcia of Templeton; sophomore catcher Tommy Herrera and junior outfielder Isiah Garcia of Santa Maria; junior outfielder Justin Allen and freshman pitcher Oscar Rojas of Lompoc; junior infielder-pitcher Noah Randolph of Cabrillo; senior outfielder Joe Burton of Morro Bay; sophomore infielder-pitcher Ricky Iniguez of Nipomo; and senior second baseman Isaiah Heath of Orcutt Academy.

Sophomore utility player Justin Kislosky of Santa Ynez, Santa Maria senior outfielder J.J. Pantoja, Lompoc senior catcher Zeke Chavez, Cabrillo junior catcher Chris Brady and Nipomo senior pitcher Marc Arguijo all earned honorable mention.


Cabrillo senior Jordan Spice was another LPL catcher who was a steadying influence on pitchers in 2017.  She is the Los Padres League softball MVP.

Sophomore Ashley Daugherty went 15-4 and sported a 0.54 ERA as she pitched Templeton to the league title. She is the LPL Pitcher of the Year.

Third-year coach Denicia Gills guided Santa Ynez to the CIF Southern Section Division 7 championship game after two winless seasons. Two of her players landed spots on the All-LPL First Team.

Those players are a pair of freshmen, infielder-outfielder Yesenia Vega and pitcher Armani Garcia. The rest of the first team consists of Nipomo senior Gennae Abatti; Lompoc seniors Cheyenne Marmolejo and Lauren Wade and freshman Sierra Preston; Morro Bay senior Taylor Merrill; Daugherty, and junior teammates Ashley Inglz, Katie Murphee and Shrylyn Coy of Templeton; Spice and Cabrillo senior teammate Mallory Townsend; and Santa Maria junior Ehsya Glidewell.

Get breaking news sent instantly to your inbox

The second team consists of Nipomo sophomore Lisette Coria; freshman Mariah Valalobos and senior Jayden Andrade of Lompoc; Santa Ynez senior Anastazia Garcia and sophomore Maggie Usher; Morro Bay senior Kendall Schemmer; Templeton senior Mikayla Zundel; Cabrillo sophomore Brooklyn Gregory and senior Kaylee Smalling; Orcutt Academy sophomore Deisy Esparsa; and Santa Maria junior Exandra Madrigal.

Nipomo freshman Vanessa De Los Santos, Lompoc sophomore Hannah Larsh, Santa Ynez junior Alycia Lowery, Orcutt Academy sophomore Cielo Ruvalcaba, Santa Maria sophomore Xchelle Glidewell and Cabrillo senior Caitlin Kerrigan all earned honorable mention.

Boys volleyball

Senior Blake Hadley consistently pounded away kills and gave Santa Ynez steady leadership as the Pirates rolled to the Los Padres League championship. He is the LPL boys volleyball MVP.

Santa Ynez teammates Mick Totemeier, a junior outside hitter, Nate Rogers, a freshman libero, and Jimmy Algeo, a senior opposite, all landed on the All-Los Padres League First Team.

Nipomo junior middle blocker Daniel Lavery and junior setter Andrew Diaz are also on the first team. The rest of the first team consists of senior setter Trevor Holmes, senior opposite Justin Peterson and junior outside hitter Chase Erwin of Templeton; senior outside hitter Joshua Stewart of Cabrillo; senior outside hitter Cole Carpenter of Orcutt Academy; senior middle hitter Jose Zarate of Santa Maria; and senior outside hitters Spencer Cecil and Dexter Marquard, and junior setter Theo Mackey of Morro Bay.

The second team consists senior outside hitter Joey Ayala, sophomore middle blocker Evan Thompson and senior middle blocker Chris Hartman of Santa Ynez; sophomore libero Luis Riguelme and junior outside hitter Julian Bonino of Nipomo; outside hitter Zack Kruse and middle blocker Kurtis Wicka, both of whom are Templeton juniors; Cabrillo senior middle blocker Joey Brown; junior right side hitter Marc Pyle of Orcutt Academy; junior setter Isaya Curiel of Santa Maria; and sophomore middle hitter Jaden Churchill and senior libero Dexton Owens of Morro Bay.

Defensive specialists Kyle O'Neill of Santa Ynez, a junior, and Jerico Becerra of Nipomo, a sophomore, earned honorable mention along with Cabrillo senior setter Deven Rosales, Orcutt Academy junior setter Hamilton Wall and Santa Maria junior libero Jesus Olivera.