Subscribe for 33¢ / day
021418 AG CHS b basketball 16.jpg

Cabrillo's LeAndrew Knight drives past Arroyo Grande's Gage Gomez to score the Conqs' last field goal in a first-round playoff game Feb. 14. Knight has been voted the All-Area Offensive Player of the Year by the LCCN sports staff.

Cabrillo's boys basketball team won another LPL championship, and Cabrillo senior guard LeAndrew Knight  is the league MVP. Santa Maria senior guard Clark Kringel is the Defensive MVP.

Santa Maria made it to the 5AAA semifinals before going out.


Santa Maria’s Clark Kringel pressures Garden Grove’s Brandon Coleman during a CIF Division 5AAA playoff game at Garden Grove High School Feb. 20. Kringel, who was named the Los Padres League Defensive Player of the Year, has also been voted the All-Area Defensive Player of the Year. 

Senior Santa Maria guards Joey Nevarez and Blake Truhitte both made the All-Los Padres League First Team. Lompoc senior center Jordan Tyler, Nipomo junior forward Carmelo Hernandez, Santa Ynez senior guard Zack Heweitt, Cabrillo senior forward Austin Olsen, Templeton junior guard Jordan Stowers and Orcutt Academy senior forward Marc Pyle joined those two on the First Team.


Santa Maria’s Joey Nevarez goes to the hoop during a CIF Division 5AAA semifinal game against La Puente at La Puente High School.

The Second Team consisted of forwards Ethan Solu of Morro Bay, Eddie Little of Cabrillo, Tyson Offill of Morro Bay and Dane Weeks of Orcutt Academy, along with guards Jeffrey Ray of Lompoc, Ryan Rennick of Santa Ynez, Kobe Medina of Santa Maria and Darren Sosa of Nipomo.

Solu, Ray, Medina and Weeks are seniors. Rennick, Little and Offill are juniors. Sosa is a freshman.

Forwards Ryan Morgan of Lompoc, Ryan Aguilar of Cabrillo, Jon Ramos of Santa Maria and Kenny Johnson of Nipomo, along with guards Merek Mercado of Santa Ynez and Colin Otremba of Orcutt Academy earned honorable mention. Aguilar, Ramos, Otremba and Johnson are seniors. Morgan is a sophomore. Mercado is a junior.

Boys soccer

Lompoc won the league championship, an Lompoc senior Casey Blout is the Los Padres League Defensive MVP.

Senior Marino Corona of runner-up Santa Maria is the Offensive MVP.

The league champion Braves and league runner-up Saints were well-represented on the All-LPL First Team. Lompoc freshman midfielder Sebastian Hernandez, senior midfielder Martin Melero and junior goalkeeper Ricardo Garay all landed spots on the All-LPL First Team. So did Santa Maria senior defenders Diego Villagran, Miguel Tena and Bryan Gomez.

Get breaking news sent instantly to your inbox

Santa Ynez midfielders Nico Rocha (sophomore) and Ben blacker (junior) are on the All-LPL First Team. So are a pair of Cabrillo seniors, center midfielder Eric Diaz and stopper Nico Glass, along with seniors Orion Schwellenbach of Morro Bay (stopper), Eddie Lundberg of Orcutt Academy (defender) and J.C. Macias of Nipomo (midfielder).

The Second Team defenders are Lompoc sophomore Johnathan Limas, Santa Maria senior Samuel Tena, Santa Ynez junior Ivan Virgen, Orcutt Academy junior Kaden Bennett and Nipomo senior Greg Casillas.

The forwards are Lompoc sophomore Alexander Gonzales, Santa Maria sophomore Clemente Tapia and Santa Ynez senior Chris Tellez. The midfielders are Lompoc junior Juan Montelongo and Templeton junior Nathan Lebens.

The stoppers are Cabrillo senior Kevin Gutierrez and Morro Bay junior Pedro Morales. The goalkeeper is Cabrillo senior Goalkeeper.

Defenders Christian De La Cruz of Lompoc (senior), Juan Zacarias of Santa Maria (junior), David Conable of Orcutt Academy (junior) and Enrique Castillo Ramiro of Nipomo (senior), along with Santa Ynez senior goalkeeper A.J. Reynoso and Cabrillo senior left back Carlos Ramirez, earned honorable mention.