Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Eight Santa Ynez girls soccer players filled the 2016-17 version of the All-Los Padres League team.

Ashley von Tillow claimed the league’s Offensive Player of the Year award after leading the team with 16 goals and adding 12 assists, as she helped guide the Pirates to the outright LPL title after finishing 15-7-2 and 11-3 in league games.

The trio of midfielder Julia Pritchard, midfielder Monica Pizano and defender Kyra Gaus represented the Santa Ynez players who made the All-LPL first team.  Earning second team honors for the Pirates were defender Sarina Diaz, goalkeeper Breanna Rodrigues and forward Rozlin Kristofferson. Freshman midfielder Katelyn Rennie earned honorable mention honors as a midfielder.

Santa Ynez’s Ron Cantrell took home the Coach of the Year award, who has 130 career coaching victories in 10 seasons with the Pirates.

Lompoc had a trio of Braves earning first team honors: Defender Mayah Pico, defender Zariah Simmons and forward Ayziah Simmons – who was the lone freshman to make the All-LPL First Team after netting a league best 17 goals.  

Nipomo defender Diana Deleon and midfielder Jackie Lopez earned first team awards for the Titans. The Cabrillo duo of goalkeeper Morgan Christen and forward Natalia Tulloch landed on the first team while Santa Maria defender Jessica Gil Garcia helped round out the league’s first team selections.

Earning second team honors were: Forward Ariel Smith of Orcutt Academy, Midfielder Hannah Montalban of Lompoc, forward Monica Escalante of Lompoc, midfielder Vivanna Silva of Nipomo, defender Maritza Ramirez of Nipomo, midfielder Kieran Bixler of Cabrillo and Krista Eisen of Cabrillo.

Comprising the honorable mention selections were forward Alyssa Pablo of Cabrillo, midfielder Marina Tamayo of Lompoc, forward Kim Knollenberg of Nipomo, defender Kira Hopkins of Orcutt Academy and midfielder Irene Espinoza of Santa Maria. Hopkins was the second freshman to earn a spot on the All-LPL team along with Santa Ynez’s Rennie.

Nine Santa Maria Saints, including top defender Diego Villagran, earned All-Los Padres League boys soccer honors.

Villagran took home the Defensive Player of the Year award. League Most Valuable Player went to Cabrillo’s Juan Trejo, who got the Conquistadores to finish behind the reigning LPL champion Saints in the final league standings.

Get breaking news sent instantly to your inbox

Coach of the Year went to the Saints’ Eduardo Cuna, who led them to a 13-1 mark in league games.

Along with Villagran, four Saints made the first team: Forward/midfielder Saul Ayuso, midfielder Marino Corona and striker Andres Montano. Rounding out the rest of the All-LPL First Team were Nipomo forward Ulises Macias, the Cabrillo trio of Salvador Andrade (defender), Adrian Calderon (midfield) and forward Nikolai Glass, the Santa Ynez duo of forward Alex Harrison and midfielder Spencer Watts and Lompoc’s Julian Araujo (defender) and Casey Blout (midfielder).

Santa Maria led the second team contingent with three members: Wing/striker George Carmona, striker/midfielder Bryant Aquino and wing Marcos Pinon. Cabrillo had forward Jesus Mendoza and defender Eric Dial receive second team recognition. Lompoc and Santa Ynez had two players land on the second team each - Martin Melero and midfielder Juan Montelongo for LHS and Alex Herrandez and Evan Virgen for the Pirates. Completing the rest of the second team were Orcutt Academy’s Jose Sanchez (midfield) and Nipomo’s Tyler Bedford.

All-league honorable mentions were: Defender Nathan Cadena (Cabrillo), goalkeeper Tyler Zafiris (Orcutt Academy), midfielder Chris Teller (Santa Ynez), center back Bryant Gomes (Santa Maria), forward Ruben Alatorre (Lompoc) and defender Jorge Enrique Castillo (Nipomo).